Daily Archives: October 27, 2012

Don Bleek Attends The Weeknd ‘Trilogy’ NYC Album Listening Session

This past Wednesday (October 24), I attended Abe Tesfaye also known by his stage name The Weeknd album listening session in NYC. The event was held at a small bar in the Meatpacking District. The former industrial neighborhood now houses large expensive row houses and townhouses. This neighborhood is also known for its exclusive and lavish nightclubs.

Throughout the evening, The Weeknd ‘Trilogy’ album which arrives on November 13 played over a loud sound system while guests in attendance ate some fancy vegetarian food and drank Hennessy. The waitresses walked around the low lighting, loud music, and warm room temperature venue with trays of vegetarian food while the bartenders served us Coca Cola mixed with Hennessy.

Around 9:30 pm, The Weeknd arrived to the venue with his entourage which consisted of about 7-10 guys who were most likely his friends, management team and publicist. Members from Universal Republic Records were also in attendance. Upon his arrival, The Weeknd and his crew were immediately escorted to V.I.P. (which was about two feet away from where I sat) and gifted with liquor, champagne and food. Maybe about 20 minutes after he and his friends sat in V.I.P, dressed in all black everything, The Weeknd decided to step out onto the main floor where he was greeted with bear hugs. He also took pictures and did a couple of short interviews for the journalists, bloggers, DJ’s, executives and socialites who were in attendance. He seemed very humble, down to earth and pleasant. However, I think some folks were a little disappointed that he didn’t get on the mic to say anything.

Personality, I love the album’s tracks but some critics are calling ‘Tribology’ “confusing” because it is filled with songs from his ‘House Of Balloons’, ‘Thursday’ and ‘Echoes Of Silence’ mixtape, just remastered. The album will also contain three new tracks, scheduled to be called “Til Dawn”, “Valerie”, and “Twenty Eight”. The album is also rumored to feature a bonus never-before-seen video of the song “The Zone” Ft. Drake. The Weeknd past three mixtapes are a great body of work and he stayed consistent with the sound, quality and lyrics on all three projects. For his debut album, The Weeknd pretty much stuck to the same ideas that he used for his mixtape. The vocals are just a little softer and the bass packed a more powerful punch. A visual for “Wicked Games” was released last week. The track serves as a single from ‘Trilogy’.

The Weeknd first received recognition in 2010, after he uploaded several songs to YouTube. This past September, the 22-year-old Toronto native inked a partnership deal with Universal Republic Records. I think he will live up to the hype of his debut album and I see him having a great career.

Follow me @donbleek88

Comments Off on Don Bleek Attends The Weeknd ‘Trilogy’ NYC Album Listening Session

Filed under Music News

Chris Brown Gets Dapper In A Black Dolce & Gabbana Suit & YSL Leopard Loafers For Elton John’s Husband Birthday

R&B/Pop singer Chris Brown recently attended Elton John’s husband David Furnish’s 50th birthday party at the Belasco Theatre in Los Angeles. For the event, Breezy arrived in his $750,000 Lamborghini. He got all dapper in a black Dolce & Gabbana suit paired with leopard YSL loafers. What do you think about Breezy’s look?

Pics via Sandra Rose via SPW/Splash News

Follow me @donbleek88

1 Comment

Filed under Fashion

Celeb Fashion: Kim Kardashian Carrying A Crocodile Hermes Birkin Bag & Wearing Jimmy Choo Pumps

Reality star and business woman Kim Kardashian was recently photo’d shopping in Miami at upscale boutique Christian Louboutin. She styled in an asymmetrical leather peplum and Bleulab Detour Reversible Denim Leggings paired with Jimmy Choo Anouk Pumps which she wore last week when she dined with her boyfriend Kanye West at Miami’s Prime 112. Kim accessorized her outfit with a black crocodile Hermes Birkin bag. The Kardashians are in Miami filming episodes of their reality TV series, Kourtney & Kim Take Miami. What are your thoughts on her outfit?

Pics Sandra Rose via INFphoto.com

Follow me @donbleek88


Filed under Fashion

New Music: Lil Durk Ft. Meek Mill “Right Here (Remix)”;Plus Download ‘Life Ain’t No Joke’ Mixtape

Let’s take a ride, where? Chicago Southside! Def Jam recording artist Lil Durk releases the remix to his latest single “Right Here” Ft. Meek Mill. Young Chop handled the production! I’m feeling this track! Lil Durk’s new mixtape Life Ain’t No Joke is available now. Download it here! Listen to the track below:

Follow me @donbleek88


Continue reading

Comments Off on New Music: Lil Durk Ft. Meek Mill “Right Here (Remix)”;Plus Download ‘Life Ain’t No Joke’ Mixtape

Filed under Music News

Ciara Celebrates Her 27th Birthday With Lala Anthony & Friends In New York City

Singer Ciara had a big week in New York City! The Atlanta native visited Time Squares to watch the premiere of her new video “Got Me Good” and she performed for Jimmy Kimmel Live. Cici took the stage in all black everything as she performed “Sorry”,”Got Me Good”, “Goodies” and “Like A Boy” for thousands of screaming fans. Her performance reminded me of an old classic Janet Jackson performance. After all of the working, Cici and her BFF Lala Antony headed over to RSVP to celebrate the Epic Records signee 27th birthday. Cici’s new album One Woman Army arrives this winter!

Pics via Shareif Ziyadat

Follow me @donbleek88

Comments Off on Ciara Celebrates Her 27th Birthday With Lala Anthony & Friends In New York City

Filed under Entertainment, Music News

New Music: Meek Mill “Tony Story Part. 2″; Plus ‘Dreams & Nightmares’ OFFICIAL Tracklist

Meek Mill is set to release his debut album, entitled Dreams & Nightmares this Tuesday (October 30). Today, the album’s 10th track, “Tony Story Part. 2” was released. Boi-1da handled the production on this gangsta track which tells a story about the harsh reality and everyday struggle in Philly. As, I always say, “I am so proud of Meek’s success. He is a diamond in the rough and the meaning of a Dream Chaser.” Pre-order Dreams & Nightmares on iTunes now. Listen to the track below:

1. Dreams And Nightmares (produced by Tone the Best Bully )
2. In God We Trust (produced by Black Metaphor)
3. Young & Gettin’ It featuring Kirko Bangz (produced by Jahlil Beats)
4. Traumatized (produced by Boi-1da)
5. Believe It featuring Rick Ross (produced by Young Shun)
6. Maybach Curtains featuring Nas, John Legend & Rick Ross (produced by Infamous & The Agency)
7. Amen featuring Drake (produced by Key Wane and Jahlil Beats)
8. Young Kings (produced by Lee Major)
9. Lay Up featuring Wale, Rick Ross & Trey Songz (produced by Kane Beatz and Co-Produced by Ashanti “The Mad Violinist”)
10. Tony Story Pt. 2 (produced by Boi-1da)
11. Who Your Around featuring Mary J. Blige (produced by Tommy “TBHITS” Brown and Travis)
12. Polo & Shell Tops (produced by Cardiak)
13. Rich & Famous featuring Louie V (produced by Jahlil Beats)
14. Real N***** Come First (produced by Kenoe and Got Koke)

Follow me @donbleek88

Comments Off on New Music: Meek Mill “Tony Story Part. 2″; Plus ‘Dreams & Nightmares’ OFFICIAL Tracklist

Filed under New Music