Daily Archives: July 3, 2013

[UPDATE] Angela Simmons Is 106 & Park’s New Host For The Remaining Of The Summer & She Covers Rolling Out Magazine

cover_Angela_web-650x824

Last month, I reported that BET was in the process of announcing that Angela Simmons is the new co-host of 106 & Park. The executives at the network have been testing her for the last month or two. Apparently, everybody is happy with Angela’s media skills because today, the show’s host and consultant, Bow Wow officially welcomed the hard-working fly chic to the 106 & Park family.

To coincide with her new career move, Rolling Out magazine releases their latest issue and Angela Simmons graces the front cover. Styled by celebrity stylist Olori Swank, Angela poses in various ensembles including a floor length gown, skirt, dresses and a sweater. Now 25, Angela is embarking on her own journey of self-discovery, evolving as a business woman and building her brand. The young successful entrepreneuress, designer and philanthropist touches on various topics in her cover story from connecting more with her fans to  fashion and much more. Below are some highlights:

UPDATE from BET!

Angela will serve as 106 & Park‘s co-host ONLY for the remaining of the summer. This afternoon, BET released an official statement about Angela and the other three former co-hosts ( Paigon, Mykie and Shorty) who will not be returning. Read below:

106 & Park is undergoing exciting changes.  Angela Simmons will continue to guest host until the end of the summer.  Bow Wow aka “Mr. 106 & Park” will continue as the lead host; Miss. Mykie, Paigion and Shorty Da Prince will no longer remain on the show.  BET Networks is happy to have worked with these bright, young stars and will continue to support them and their upcoming endeavors.”

Stay tuned to YDBR for the latest developments…

7-650x975

We checked out your website, AngelaIam.com and you seem to be really passionate about it. Tell us about it. 

It’s basically a place for my fans and anyone that wants to keep up with me. It’s also a place that’s really about inspiring and helping young females. I have a beauty section, a fitness section, and an “Ask Angela” section; it goes on and on. It’s pretty much everything in my life all in one place. I’m really excited about it. When I launched it, it crashed [laughs]  … which is a good thing, because everyone ran there at the same time. I’m excited, because it’s my baby, and I’m really owning it.

You appear to be a very transparent person. 

I’m pretty transparent. I think that we’re all transparent to a certain degree. I let them see as much as possible — especially young females who have so many questions for me. I’ve been through the same things that they’ve been through, and I’m just 25 now, so at least I can shorten their distance if they’ve got a problem going on.

You also launched a fashion line. Can you give us some details on that?

It’s really feminine, but still dressed down, because that’s how I am. I think that an outfit should be able to carry you from day to night. It should be something that you can wear with sneakers, or something that you can wear with heels. That’s the kind of girl that I am. I’m a New York City edgy girl on the go, so the clothing line is fun and young … it’s also something that you can keep forever. I try to make pieces that people will be able to carry on for a long time. I want my pieces to be affordable, so it’s a very moderate-end line that you can actually buy and be fashionable for the price.

Photos Credit: Rolling Out |DeWayne Rogers

Spotted: Rolling Out 

Follow  me @donbleek88

NEXT PAGE: MORE PICS AND HIGHLIGHTS 

Continue reading

Comments Off on [UPDATE] Angela Simmons Is 106 & Park’s New Host For The Remaining Of The Summer & She Covers Rolling Out Magazine

Filed under Entertainment, Fashion

Justin Combs Spotted In $875 Giuseppe Zanotti Sneakers

justincar

Another day and Justin Combs flexes on Instagram again in Giuseppe Zanotti sneakers. The UCLA football player constantly shows his love for the Italian shoe designer. In his latest flick, Justin stood in front of a black car in a Chanel logo inspired shirt paired with black waxed denim jeans and $875 Giuseppe Zanotti High Top sneakers. These kicks feature gold zippers on the side and a total gold alien tooth. Last week, I posted a pic of Justin wearing these exact same sneakers paired with a black ensemble. When did he wear these Giuseppe Zanotti sneakers better?

jcombsallblack

44534244PS_13_f

44534244ps_13_d

Photos Credit: Justin’s Instagram |  Giuseppe Zanotti

Follow  me @donbleek88

3 Comments

Filed under Fashion, Sports

Child Please! Evelyn Lozada Covers Latina Magazine; Now She’s Trying To Clean Up Her Bad Girl Image

evlantina

Shoetique owner-turned-reality star Evelyn Lozada covers the August 2013 issue of Latina magazine. Inside, the ghetto a**, loud mouth Basketball Wives fame whore talks about growing up in NYC, raising her daughter, being a reality star, her current relationship with her ex-husband Chad Johnson, the head-butting incident, starting a foundation for victims of domestic violence and much more. This issue hits newsstands July 9th. Below are some highlights:

On growing up in NYC:

“I was born in Brooklyn. I was born in Bushwick, on Putnam Avenue, then lived in Ridgewood, Queens and then when I was around 11, we moved to the Bronx.”

On raising her now 20-year-old daughter Shaniece:

“We’re like best friends but she knows when it comes to me being her mother that, you know, I’m going to be on you’re a** and I’m going to check you about anything that’s going on. And I think now and for the rest of her life, whether she gets married or not, she’s going to come and she’s going to be like, ‘Mom, this is how I feel’ because I’m really honest and straightforward. But she’s different from me in a lot of ways. She’s very, very quiet and very reserved.”

On being a reality TV star:

“When it first aired, I remember first thinking, ‘I hate my voice.’ I was like, ‘Do I really sound like that? I sound very New York!’ But I guess I am. If you give them footage to air, they’re going to use it. You always hear people saying, ‘Oh well, they edited it in a certain way.’ No. The things that I’ve said, I’ve said. The things that I’ve done, I’ve done. And I’m not always proud of it, but I did it.”

On her relationship with Chad “Ochocinco” Johnson:

“When times were good, times were great. We would laugh a lot. It was just one of those things… There was nothing in the middle — when it was great, it was great; but when it was bad, it was real bad. There was no in between.

Photos Credit: Latina Magazine

Follow  me @donbleek88

NEXT PAGE: MORE HIGHLIGHTS FROM EVELYN’S INTERVIEW WITH LATINA MAGAZINE

Continue reading

Comments Off on Child Please! Evelyn Lozada Covers Latina Magazine; Now She’s Trying To Clean Up Her Bad Girl Image

Filed under Entertainment, Reality TV

Jay-Z’s ‘Magna Carta Holy Grail’ Cover Art, Plus The Original Magna Carta Documents

mchg_cover

At midnight (July 4), Jay-Z (my idol) releases his forthcoming LP, Magna Carta Holy Grail. Today, the music mogul’s Life & Times channel unveiled the album’s official cover art alongside the original Magna Carta documents in the UK. The installation will be display at the Salisbury Cathedral Chapter House through the month of July.

MCHG will be available early to eligible Samsung users who have downloaded the #magnacarta app at 12:01 am EST on Thursday (July 4). [Click here to download the app.] The album will be released globally on July 9th. See the installation below:

mchg2

mchg3

mchg5

mchg7

Photos Credit: Life & Times 

Follow  me @donbleek88

Comments Off on Jay-Z’s ‘Magna Carta Holy Grail’ Cover Art, Plus The Original Magna Carta Documents

Filed under Music News

When Did She Wear It Better? Angela Simmons In $229 MIA Limited Edition Rocco Sandals With A Shirt Tied Around Her Waist

angelala1

Yesterday Tuesday (July 2), I posted a pic of media personality/business woman Angela Simmons wearing a pair of $229 MIA Limited Edition Rocco Sandals. These limited edition sandals are completed with a ribbed padding, fold over Velcro strap at the ankle, and snake-skin. The fly chic wore these sandals again when photogs caught her in Los Angeles. This time around, she changed from her black shorts and replaced them with destructed boyfriend jeans. Angela kept her black tank along with the shirt tied around her waist. When did she wear it better?

angelala2

tl114msnke-white-multi-snake-alt2

tl114msnke-white-multi-snake-alt3

Yesterday’s look, see original post here!

angelala

Photos Credit: FashionBombDaily | Angela’s Instagram

Follow  me @donbleek88

1 Comment

Filed under Fashion

From Harlem USA To Anna Wintour’s Vogue, Dominic Lord’s New Single “Overworld”

dominic-lord-01_15544555023.jpg_guides_hero

Fashion designer Riccardo Tisci and Dominic Lord

I am so proud of Dominic Lord, I’m rooting for him and I also want him to win. From Harlem USA to Anna Wintour’s Vogue, who premieres the first single, “Overworld” off his upcoming EP. On the track, the 20-year-old baby face star in the making displays his lyrical abilities over an up-tempo beat. The Geffen Records recording artist has been steadily working with famed producers Stargate and Hudson Mohawke, while currently staying in Paris, France. In his Vogue story, Dominic Lord talks to journalist Gillian Sagansky about mixing music and fashion together, his reaction when he first heard the “Overworld” beat, favorite fashion designers and much more. Below are some highlights:

“I approach a song the way a designer approaches clothing—I’m a music designer,” says twenty-year old rapper Dominic Lord (which is, in fact, his real name). The up-and-coming Harlem-bred musician who began performing less than two years ago, is already working closely with mega producers such as Stargate (the Norwegian duo who produce tracks for Beyoncé and Rihanna), and Hudson Mohawke, a key contributor to Kanye West’s new album Yeezus.

His up-tempo song “Overworld,” the first single on his forthcoming EP, was born of a cathartic reaction to a beat his manager first played for him when they were driving around New York City. “I was so riled up, I immediately went upstairs to the studio and recorded it in 30 minutes.” This is typical of Lord’s creative method—he often freestyles over beats and admits to having to go back and “re-learn the lyrics” to his own songs. “Overworld is a word I created; it’s the opposite of underworld. It’s a state of mind more than anything else. It’s about inspiring people to find their inner positivity and knowing that you can do anything.”

But music is not the only thing on his plate. Lord is currently holding court in ParisRiccardo Tisci personally invited Lord to front-row seats at Givenchy’s spring 2014 men’s show and dressed him for the event. The rapper cites Christopher Kane, Damir Doma, Ann Demeulemeester, and of course, Tisci, as his favorite designers. “Riccardo is the leader of the new school,” he declares. “He is someone the youth can relate to. It’s an honor for him to want me at his show.”

Listen to “Overworld” below:

Photos Credit: Aram Bedrossian

Spotted: Vogue 

Follow  me @donbleek88

1 Comment

Filed under Fashion, Music News