Jennifer Lopez Covers The August 2013 Issue Of W Magazine, Goes Back To Her Bronx Block

jennifer-lopez-august-2013-cover-cover-lines-e1373379917475-581x760

Jennifer Lopez covers the August 2013 issue of W Magazine in a Gucci feather dress. For the cover story, J Lo travels back to the Castle Hill section of the Bronx, NY where she grew up at with writer Lynn Hirschberg. “This is the house I grew up in,” said J. Lo who stopped in front of a white two-story house surrounded by an ornate metal gate. J Lo’s longtime manager was also present. He asked if she wanted to knock on the door of her childhood house. “No. I don’t want to go inside,” she said. “The last time I was in there was when my mom and dad called us home to tell us that they were separating after 33 years of marriage. I think that’s why I was nervous about coming here today. It’s like seeing someone from the past—you’re afraid to run into them because you never know if it’s going to be ‘wow’ or very difficult. This is a combination of both.”

In the cover story, J Lo also talks about butting heads with her mother, sleeping on a sofa in the studio, being homeless, dancing in Europe which helped her get booked as a ‘Fly Girl‘ on In Living Color.

My mom and I butted heads. “I didn’t want to go to college—I wanted to try dance full-time. So she and I had a break. I started sleeping on the sofa in the dance studio. I was homeless, but I told her, ‘This is what I have to do.’ A few months later, I landed a job dancing in Europe. When I got back, I booked In Living Color. I became a Fly Girl and moved to L.A. It all happened in a year.”

On not liking L.A. in the beginning:

I hated L.A.,” she said. “I was asking, ‘Where’s the store for milk? Don’t you guys walk on the street?’ Now I love Los Angeles, but it doesn’t give me strength the way the Bronx did. All the strength that I needed for life, I got from that neighborhood.”

cess-jennifer-lopez-bronx-shoot-02-v

Lopez in front of her childhood home in the Bronx, in May. Michael Kors jacket; Roberto Cavalli dress; Kwiat earrings; Jacob & Co ring.

cess-jennifer-lopez-bronx-shoot-03-v

Prada coat; Jacob & Co ring.

Read the full interview and see more pics at W Magazine.

Photos Credit: W Magazine

Follow  me @donbleek88

Comments Off on Jennifer Lopez Covers The August 2013 Issue Of W Magazine, Goes Back To Her Bronx Block

Filed under Entertainment, Fashion, Hollywood

Comments are closed.