Daily Archives: August 22, 2013

Carmelo Anthony Receives Hennessy Privilège Award; J.R. Smith, Fabolous, Adrienne Bailon & Rocsi In Attendance

meloevent1

Last night Wednesday (August 21), in NYC, my favorite NBA player (Carmelo Anthony) was honored with the Hennessy Privilege Award. The event took place at Manhattan’s The Griffin nightspot. The Brooklyn-born Baltimore-bred was honored for his philanthropic work and ongoing community service through his Carmelo Anthony Foundation. Melo’s wife Lala was not able to accompany him because she is on the West coast promoting the upcoming movie Baggage Claim which hit theaters September 27. However Melo’s teammate J.R. Smith, rapper Fabolous, singer Luke James and actor/rapper Mack Wilds were present to support the Knicks baller. In celebrations of the event’s 10th anniversary, Jay Pharoah kicked off the festivities, followed by Spike Lee taking the stage to toast the new inductee. DJ Clue, Rocsi Diaz and Adrienne Bailon were also in attendance.  Peep the pics below:

meloevent6

meloevent7

meloevent3

meloevent4

Photos Credit: Splash

Follow me @donbleek88

NEXT PAGE: MORE PICS FROM LAST NIGHT’S EVENT

Continue reading

2 Comments

Filed under Sports

Cassie Celebrates 27th Birthday In NYC With Trina, Rocsi Diaz & Teyana Taylor

cassieparty2

Singer and model Cassie kicks off her 27th birthday celebration a little early. Last night Wednesday (August 21), Diddy’s girlfriend celebrated her birthday at NYC’S W.I.P. nightclub with some of her celebrity friends including Trina, Rocsi Diaz and Teyana Taylor. The ladies snapped lots of pics as they snipped Ciroc. Cassie looked cute in an oversized white shirt layered under a white jacket for the occasion. Mannie Fresh, DJ Whoo Kidd, Jessica Rosenblum, Malik Yoba and Harve Pierre were also in attendance. View the pics below:

cassieparty12

cassieparty4

cassieparty1

cassieparty11

cassieparty13

Photos Credit: Cassie’s Instagram |Blue Flame Agency

Follow me @donbleek88

NEXT PAGE: MORE PICS FROM CASSIE’S BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION

Continue reading

1 Comment

Filed under Entertainment

Soulja Boy Releases Images From His Photoshoot; Styles In Givenchy, Dolce & Gabbana And Dsquared2

souljaboyphotoshoot1

Soulja Boy in a $515 Givenchy Doberman-Print Cotton-Jersey Sweatshirt. This sweatshirt features the Doberman animals printed across the front wearing chained collars. You can buy it at Barneys, Luisaviaroma, Mr. Porter or Farfetch.

Rapper Soulja Boy releases a few behind the scenes images from his recent photo shoot. He was styled by fashion stylist Luke Storey and photographed by Giuliano Bekor for this shoot which was shot at Los Angeles Lightbox StudioSoulja styled in upscale brands including Givenchy, Dolce & Gabbana and Dsquared2 for the shoot. He also wore a black leather top by Laer, white bandana inspired tee-shirt and a graphic printed tee-shirt. Soulja looked dope, great shoot. See the imagery below:

souljaboyphotoshoot5

Soulja Boy in a Dolce & Gabbana  polka dots buttoned down paired with black jeans

souljaboyphotoshoot3

Soulja Boy in a graphic printed tee-shirt paired with black jeans

souljaboyphotoshoot4

Soulja Boy in a black leather top by Laer

souljaboyphotoshoot2

Soulja Boy in a white bandana inspired tee-shirt paired with black jeans

souljaboyphotoshoot6

Soulja Boy in a Dsquared2 vest

Photos Credit: Soulja Boy’s Instagram 

Follow me @donbleek88

1 Comment

Filed under Fashion

New Music: Tamar Braxton “All The Way Home,” ‘Love & War’ Arrives September 3

tamar-all-the-way-home

Two weeks before her new album arrives, Tamar Braxton releases her new single “All The Way Home“. The track serves as the follow-up to Tamar’s summertime smash singles “Love and War” and “The One” and is the official third single off her forthcoming LP, Love & War. The project arrives September 3 via Epic Records. On the mid-tempo romantic track, Tamar sings about the love of her life. She gets behind the wheels and thinks about her man during the whole drive back home. Season 2 of Tamar and Vince premieres September 5 on WE tv. Tamar and her husband Vince Herbert will be releasing a relationship advice book titled, Love And War which borrows it title from Tamar’s album. The book is slated for a Black Friday (November 29) released and will be based on the couple’s love life and relationship experiences.

Stream and download “All The Way Home” below…

Follow me @donbleek88

1 Comment

Filed under New Music

RichHomieQuan For Complex; Speaks On His Style, Favorite Stores & More

richhomiequan3_bhlyp

While on a press run in NYC, rising Atlanta rapper RichHomieQuan stopped by Complex’s Manhattan offices for a photo shoot and brief interview. The publication documented the style and personalities of the rapper. During his interview, the “Type Of Way” rapper spoke about the Armani outfit that he had on during his interview and photo shoot, some of his favorite stores, described his style, winning “best dressed” in high school,  and more. Below are some highlights:

richhomiequan1

What are you wearing today?
Right now I have on an Armani shirt, Armani pants, Armani belt, Rolex necklace, Rolex watch, and mid-top Air Force 1s.

Hold on, lemme tell you the story behind it. Yesterday when I first got down here, I only brought one outfit. The ride was supposed to be outside at 10 a.m. I woke up at 9—keep in mind that stores don’t open til 10 o’clock—so I went to the store, bought an outfit, got dressed there, and got here. Does it look all right?

What are some of your favorite stores?
My favorite stores are G-Star, they have a store in Atlanta. I love G-Star, and my stylist, she gets a lot of stuff I’ve never heard of. I like Giuseppe shoes. You gotta keep in mind though I won “Best Dressed” in high school, so I really like to style myself.

How would you describe your personal style?
My personal style is different, you know what I’m saying? I would say it’s original. Some days you might see me with small pants, ’cause I’m tall. People be like “damn he tall but like to wear skinnies?” It’s me. I don’t care what nobody thinks. I wear shirts that fit me, it’s my style.

Head over to Complex for the full interview.

richhomiequan5_uhnoa

Photos Credit: Liz Barclay  Complex

Spotted: Complex 

Follow me @donbleek88

Comments Off on RichHomieQuan For Complex; Speaks On His Style, Favorite Stores & More

Filed under Fashion

Lala Anthony Pairs A $650 Sass & Bide Land Of The Free Embroidered And Embellished Dress With Charlotte Olympia Wedges

lalavegas1

Multimedia personality and entrepreneur Lala Anthony hosted VIBE magazine’s private daytime pool party and 20th year anniversary at TAO in Las Vegas. Guests were treated to Sprayground backpack that included Sol Republic headphones, custom VIBE 20th New Era hats and Civil apparel. For the occasion, Lala paired a $650 Sass & Bide Land of the Free Embroidered and Embellished Dress with black and white Charlotte Olympia Wedges. Lala’s fitted dress features open cut outs, placement embroidery and embellishment detailing.

lalavegas3

lalavegas2

sassbidedress

Photos Credit: VIBE | dress via Sass & Bide |

Follow me @donbleek88

Comments Off on Lala Anthony Pairs A $650 Sass & Bide Land Of The Free Embroidered And Embellished Dress With Charlotte Olympia Wedges

Filed under Fashion

Wale Styles In Nike Air Foamposite One “Safari” & $230 McQ Alexander McQueen Cotton Track Shorts

walealexandermcqueenshortsnikefoamssneakers

As always, Wale rocks some dope sneakers to complete his summer ensemble. He styled a pair of Nike Air Foamposite One “Safari” sneakers with an orange tee-shirt and $230 McQ Alexander McQueen Cotton Track Shorts. These shorts feature an elasticated waistband, contrast logo print on one leg and single rear patch pocket. Get them at Farfetch. For these sneakers, Nike took its “safari” print and imposed it on the Foams One. They’re completed with a black and white pattern upper surrounded by black suede, Nike adds an orange to accent the safari and an iced sole.

Back in June, Wale dropped his latest offering, The Gifted. The album debuted at #1 on Billboard’s chart. This Fall 2013, he will embark on a North America ‘What Dreams May Come True‘ tour with J. Cole. See official dates here.

nike-air-foamposite-one-safari-05-570x427

nike-air-foamposite-one-safari-06-570x427

nike-air-foamposite-one-safari-02-570x427

10446549_2272985_1000

Photos Credit: Wale’s Instagram |shorts via Farfetch | sneakers via marqueesole

Follow me @donbleek88

Comments Off on Wale Styles In Nike Air Foamposite One “Safari” & $230 McQ Alexander McQueen Cotton Track Shorts

Filed under Fashion

K. Michelle Cover The September 2013 Issue Of Sister 2 Sister Magazine

kmichellesister2sistermag2

K. Michelle sure does have a lot of reasons to celebrate. She has the #1 R&B album in the country and the #2 album on the Billboard 2oo. Her Rebellious Soul debut moved 72,000 units in its first week. Now she is covering the September 2013 issue of Sister 2 Sister magazine. Inside, she opens up to S2S Publisher Jamie Foster Brown about her past abusive relationships, music career and plans for the future. Below are some highlights:

This sassy songstress-turned-reality-TV star has never had a problem keeping it real and speaking her mind. With a new record deal, a new album and a new show, find out how and why she’s striving to shed her “villainous” image in the September 2013 issue of Sister 2 Sister.

Is there any kind if misconception about you that you think is out there?
There’s a lot of them, but I think people are starting to see. You’d think I just pop off, but you don’t see I’ve had a full conversation with this individual. You just see me curse them out. You know it’s gotta be a villain every season. Somebody’s got to bring the ratings. It falls on me; I take it. It is what it is. But I think people need to understand that I’m not always angry. I’m very calm. My manager always says I’m the most giving person out of any artist that he’s ever met. I will do anything for anybody.

What’s your show going to be like?
The real me.

I thought we saw the real you.
No, you see the angry me, but this show is more my move to New York. Like, I’m just getting in my house this week in New York. Now we found the furniture—all of this kind of stuff, and just my growth as an artist and me dating again and just me being a mother and my real friends, not the friends that I’ve been put with.

Spotted: Sister 2 Sister 

Follow me @donbleek88

Comments Off on K. Michelle Cover The September 2013 Issue Of Sister 2 Sister Magazine

Filed under Beauty, Reality TV

Famous Footwear: Back-To-School Shoe Shopping

viewer

Back-to-school shopping can be fun for kids – especially those who love the new clothes and shoes that come with it, but it’s not always as fun for parents. In fact, 65% of parents say they find it stressful to make the transition to back-to-school season.

Famous Footwear is providing a few style tips on what’s hot for fall for kids – and a few shopping in their  new infographic.

In addition to the season’s hottest styles for kids and families, back-to-school shoppers can get a lot of bang for their style bucks via the current Buy One, Get One Half Off deals available at all Famous Footwear stores and online. The BOGO deal runs now through September 14, so you guy have plenty of time to take advantage of it for the new school year.

Disclosure: I am disclosing that I agreed to publish this post, however, the opinions expressed herein are those of the author. 

Follow me @donbleek88

Comments Off on Famous Footwear: Back-To-School Shoe Shopping

Filed under Dope Sneakers