Tamar Braxton & Her Son Baby Logan Cover The October 2013 Issue Of Ebony Magazine

tamarebonycover

Tamar Braxton is definitely winning! Earlier in the week, she released her new album Love And War, according to HDD, the project will debut at #2 on the Billboard Top 200 with 105-110k copies sold in its first week. The new season of her reality show Tamar & Vince premiered last night and now she is striking a killa pose on the October 2013 issue of Ebony magazine with her newborn son Baby Logan. Say whatever you want, but Tamar is a good example for young girls who want to pursue a career in the entertainment industry. She has a buzzing career, loving and supportive husband and a newborn son. She already won! For the cover story, Tamar did an interview inside of the publication’s Manhattan office. Inside, “The One” singer gets personal and talks about her past abusive relationships, clears up the rumors about her husband Vince abusing her and having plastic surgery, being vocal about her feelings and having self-esteem issues. Below are some highlights:

On her past abusive relationships (one of Tamar’s ex-boyfriends dragged her out of their apartment by her hair) and not being comfortable with sharing what happened to her:

I almost had to tell my story to each individual and then I decided that’s not what I’m going to do. I can’t make anybody believe, I can’t change anybody’s mind about anything. (The abuse,) it happened. I’m not all the way comfortable with sharing a lot of what happened to me (yet), but what I said was true. When I’m ready to talk about my abusive past I will, I’m sorry that I’m not. But if it wasn’t for (God), I wouldn’t be here.”

On the lie that Tamar’s brother-in-law/sister’s husband Gabe told a woman he was having an affair with that Vince was physically abusive to her:

“My husband definitely doesn’t abuse me,” she says, explaining that Gabe was only trying to take the heat off of himself by spewing lies about the family. “But, that’s been addressed (with Gabe). We don’t really have a close relationship anymore …but I’m respectful. I say ‘hi’ and ‘bye,’ and that’s where we leave it.”

On not being vocal about her feelings and having self-esteem issues:

“I haven’t always been vocal about my feelings, especially in a relationship. Now, I make sure that I’m very vocal about my feelings, everybody knows how I feel.  Sometimes it’s over the top and most of the time it’s ‘Team Too-Much,’” she laughs, “But I have to do a lot. (I was) a shy person who had self-esteem issues trying to figure it out — now,  I’ve gotten over my hangovers. You say, I’m comfortable and confident, it took a long time to get there. Maybe like a year or so before Braxton Family Values, I wasn’t that person. I was faking it til I make it, pretty much.

“I didn’t feel like I was beautiful. I didn’t feel like I deserved things. I didn’t feel like I could stand in a room and speak or even sing and have people who wanted to listen.”

On the plastic surgery rumors:

“I don’t have plastic surgery. I never had plastic surgery. I had a nose procedure done because I had to. I had no cartilage in my nose, I have a piece of cartilage from my ear put into my nose. I had a medical procedure done. I have no plastic in my nose. And when I shared that with the world, now I have Botox, and different kind of fillers. Now I touch my face, which I never touch my face…Everything is real on me.”

On her husband Vince helping rebuild her self-worth:

“The thing that I love the most about (Vincent) is that he’s helped me with accepting what happened to me and helped me realize that that’s not my make-up, (being abused) is not who I am, it hasn’t hindered who I am, it hasn’t stopped my integrity. I really appreciate him more and more everyday because he’s helped my self-esteem issues so much.”

And she’s also a woman of strong faith, which is why she made sure to feature a gospel track on her album Love and War: 

“A lot of people don’t get second chances. This is my sixth record deal,” she says. “This doesn’t happen. I knew I could sing and I knew I could dance but nobody really believed that much (in me) so I (had to be) really strong in my faith and I know if it wasn’t for God, I would not be here. I couldn’t do this album without people knowing how I feel about it.“

Read the full interview at Ebony.

Photos Credits: Ebony |

Follow me @donbleek88

5 Comments

Filed under Music News, Reality TV