Don Bleek’s Exclusive Interview With Joyrich’s Head Designer/Creative Director David Melgar

017

Don Bleek and David Melgar

NYFW has been a marathon for me. I’ve been to various events and shows. Today Sunday (September 8), is the halfway mark of New York Fashion Week, there are also several big shows scheduled for today including: DKNY, Diane von Furstenberg, Band of Outsiders, Derek Lam, Zac Posen and Ralph Rucci. Newer fashion brands such as Hood by Air, Public School and Edun are also presenting their Spring 2014 collections.

I kicked off NYFW by attending Los Angeles-based fashion brand Joyrich’s Pop-Up Shop in the Soho section of Manhattan. While there, I have seen some interesting looks emerge, for example: Joyrich’s floral varsity jackets, logo sweaters, Mickey Mouse tees, race car tanks, Betty Boop sweaters & hoodies, Bart Simpson varsity jackets and hoodies, graffiti backpacks and lots of hats & bags from the brand’s FW13-2014 collection.

I also had a sit-down interview with Joyrich’s Head Designer/Creative Director David Melgar’s about getting his first start in the fashion industry, designing for the brand, celebs including Rihanna & Wiz Khalifa wearing pieces from the collection, his future plans and much below. Read the interview below:

018

How would you describe Joyrich’s FW13-2014 line?

It’s very inspired by Paris. It’s a lot of L.A. and Hip-Hop mixed together but it has a high-end ecstatic to it. I don’t want to say streetwear, but it’s something different from what’s out right now. It’s a mixture of funk, Hip-Hop, pop art and vintage.

How long have you been designing for Joyrich?

I came in about 4/5 years ago. When I first came in, we worked out of a house, now we have 13 stores globally. Our flagship store is in L.A.

How do you come up with all the different types of designs?

I really don’t know to be honest with you. I get inspire but random stuff then I would just design something.

Wiz Khalifa and Rihanna wears Joyrich quite frankly, are there any other celebrities that you would like to see wearing pieces from the brand?

Honestly, I welcome anybody who loves the brand. We do have support like Rihanna and Wiz and it is amazing to me. When I was first designing, I was like, “I really hope some people likes it” and to know that these people I like, I look up to likes it, it’s a big honor to me.

How did you get your start in the fashion industry?

I started interning for various designers, just started putting myself out there. I was interning any and everywhere I can. I was also meeting different types of people.

You been in the fashion industry for quite some time now, what’s next for David Melgar, where do you see yourself five years from now? What’s your ultimate goal?

To take Joyrich to the next level, to build it and whatever the good lord has plan for me, we’ll just kind of map it out. We’re having fun right now, so it’s no plans to change anything.

Who or what are some of your style influencers?

I’m influenced by just walking down the street here in Soho, in L.A., in Tokyo, and just seeing people, just people watching. I’m not a creep but I like to people watch.

Special thanks to Joyrich’s PR/Marketing Assistant Art for putting this interview together. Be sure to visit Joyrich’s online shop.

Interview by Don Bleek

Photos Credits: Don Bleek

Follow me @donbleek88

1 Comment

Filed under Fashion

One response to “Don Bleek’s Exclusive Interview With Joyrich’s Head Designer/Creative Director David Melgar

  1. Pingback: Don Bleek’s Exclusive Interview With Joyrich’s Head Designer/Creative Director David Melgar | CelebofTea