Pusha T For Complex’s ‘My Name Is My Name’ Week Digital Cover

pushatcomplex

G.O.O.D. Music’s Pusha T releases his debut solo album, My Name Is My Name at midnight (October 8) via Def Jam. Today, the Virginia-native and former blow dealer turned dope lyricist covers Complex’sMy Name Is My Name Week digital cover. Just like a brick, Pusha flipped the life he lived, put it into songs and inked a record deal in the 90’s as one half of the Hip-Hop duo The Clispe (which also included his older brother Malice). He’s one of the most respected lyricists and one of the creators of rapping about flipping bricks and moving blow. Since then, his interested have expanded to including high fashion, private jets, yachts, and sexy females.

To coincide with the release of MNIMN, Complex collaborated with Pusha and his team to create a digital cover story featuring videography and photography by Steven Taylor. He talked to Complex’s editor Ralph Warner  about various things. Below are some highlights:

Music producer Pharrell Williams on Pusha T speaking for the underdogs and dealers:

He looks enormous success in the face and he turns it away because he still feels like he speaks for the underdog,” says Pharrell. “Pusha really sympathizes and really rides for that world, so he’s always talking about cocaine. He’s always talking about the ambition in a 19-year-old’s eyes to be a big dealer, drive big cars, run from the feds. He’s so real with that.”

Pusha T on his album delay:

It’s been a long time coming but I only say that because people feel like it’s been a long time coming,” he says of the delay. “I think it was required. I had to make sure that all the bases were covered. I started out with mixed reviews, with me doing solo freestyles. So I felt like it took this long for me to get people comfortable with Pusha T the solo artist.”

On his track “King Push”:

“‘Ye brought that to me. He played it for me and I immediately was like, ‘I hope you’re not playing this just to show me how good of a beat this is,’” Pusha says of “King Push,” the Sebastian Sartor—stepson of Metallica’s Lars Ulrich—produced track that opens the album. “I was kind of shocked that Kanye gave it up so willingly.”

On taking trips to London or Paris to meet-up and collaborate with Kanye then leaving after a week or so to stay active in the public eyes and to get his paper (money) up:

He’s like ‘You leaving?’” Pusha recalls. “I’m like, ‘Yeah man. I gotta go get some money.’ There’s a disconnect in lifestyle with me and him. It’s like ‘Alright, well, can you come back?’ But he’s talking like I’m going from north of Virginia to D.C. when I’m going from Virginia to fucking London or Paris. And I’m like, ‘Yeah, I’ll come back. I’ma let you know when I come back.’ In that sense, when I do come back I gotta come with ‘Numbers on the Board.’ You know, you gotta spark these guys. You can’t just be sitting with these motherfuckers. These guys are rich.”

Pharrell Williams again on Pusha T’s music:

He loves walking into the ratchet halls and hearing his music ring,” says Pharrell, “and seein’ all the new, young hustlers being inspired by that. He loves that. But, that’s not the only slice to his personality. There is far more, and I think that probably on this next album after this, people are gonna start to see Pusha from the Zeppelin view versus Pusha in that new $200,000 something with tinted windows, throwin’ money out the sunroof screaming, ‘Money ain’t a thang…‘”

Pusha T on having the “album of the year”:

I told you guys months ago that I got the best album—the best hip-hop album. Everybody thought I was talking shit. Everybody thought I was doing the typical rapper thing. I’m not no liar. I don’t lie. Don’t nobody got a better hip-hop album than mine. And I called it, so I already won in that aspect. I called it. I told everybody. Now y’all know that my Ouija board does work.”

Read the full story over at Complex.

Photos Credits: ComplexSteven Taylor

Follow me @donbleek88

1 Comment

Filed under Music News

One response to “Pusha T For Complex’s ‘My Name Is My Name’ Week Digital Cover

  1. Pingback: Pusha T For Complex’s ‘My Name Is My Name’ Week Digital Cover | CelebofTea