Cassie For VIBE Vixen; Styles In Upscale Designers, Talks Diddy & Denies Signing With Drake

cassievv1

Bad Boy’s leading lady and Diddy’s longtime girlfriend Cassie covers the latest issue of VIBE Vixen magazine. Back in April, the model/singer released her multi-platinum mixtape Rocka Bye Baby, featuring the lead singles “Paradise” Ft. Wiz Khalifa and “Numb” Ft. Rick Ross. Because of her “around the way girl” urban attitude and style, it is hard for some people to believe that the 27-year-old Filipino and African-American down to earth chic was raised in the suburbs of New London, Connecticut. Cassie is also a product of private school education. For this shoot, Cassie was shot by Jared Ryder and styled by Kyle Blackmon. Inside, she denies signing to Drake’s OVO label, Diddy, modeling and her singing career. Below are some highlights:

cassievv5

Martin Margiela Silver Sunglasses, Michael Schmidt Silver Bib, Vintage Claude Montana Blue Fur Sleeves, Georges Chakra Suit, Alaia Heels

A lot of folks are saying that you signed with Drake’s OVO Sounds label. Is that true?
I honestly don’t know where that came from but I had heard about it. I went to the OVO Festival in Canada, which was really dope, but no, I’m currently signed to Bad Boy and Interscope. Drake and I talked at the festival about working together, so hopefully that comes into fruition.

There’s a saying, “You are the company that you keep” and you’ve been linked to super-talented musicians/businessmen. What’s the key to maintaining a relationship when both parties have established careers?
The key to maintaining any relationship—be it a romantic relationship or a friendship—is honesty and communication. I travel so much, host parties and I just signed a new deal with Skam Artist, who predominantly DJs in the same bookings that they do at different parties. It’s New York, Chicago, Vegas so I’m constantly going.

Has Diddy inspired you to run your own empire? Was there an important business lesson you learned from him?
Absolutely. Just being around him is a completely inspiring experience. Starting my own empire would be great. I’m trying to figure that out. I’m still working with Cassie Enterprises right now but I think that would be something I would love to do.

Being a model for more than half your life, describe the moment you realized your looks are a means to getting what you want, whether it was attention from a certain guy or landing the dream job.
It’s so funny for you to even say “attention from a guy” because I had my funny-looking stage. I think everyone had it as a kid. I remember every star, every birthday wish blowing out a candle, I would always wish boys would like me because I used to get made fun of a little bit.

Photos Credit:  Jared Ryder |VIBE Vixen 

Follow me @donbleek88

NEXT PAGE: MORE HIGHLIGHTS AND PICS

cassievv4

Mattiue Mirano Mesh Gown with Black Chain Mail Squares, Michael Scmidt Black Bracelet, Christian Louboutin Black Patent Heels

Is there anything else that you feel like you need to conquer or do you feel like it’s time to settle down a bit and maybe have a couple mini Cassies?
Oh my god! Me and my friends are always talking about that. Maybe some mini Cassies or Cassiuses coming up. I’m not really sure. My new thing right now is I’m going to get back into some acting. I did Step Up 2 a while ago and I enjoyed being on set so I think I’m going to start taking classes, work with an agency and seeing where that goes as well. I’m working on a sophomore album currently so hopefully things start to move.

People have been waiting for that sophomore album for a minute now.
I would hope that by next spring it would be out. I still have a lot of leftover stuff actually from the mixtape that are really, really good.

Any other collaborations because you grabbed all the hottest people for the ‘tape, except Kendrick Lamar on “I Know What You Want” would have been dope.
Kendrick’s on the list. We definitely had spoken to his manager about trying to get him on it. I think I had reached out to Big Sean but it didn’t work out.

cassievv2

Lace By Tanaya Large Gold Chain, Lace by Tanaya Gold Baroque Hand Ring, Syren Couture Black Latex Bra, Skirt Syren Couture Black Latex Pencil Skirt

And you’re both singing on it together?
She’s in the background. What she did with each artist was let them just rock on a song. She produced. She actually played everything on the song she did with me. She’s so talented yet such a cool person, down to earth. We had such a great time working together. We worked together on like five songs a minute ago. She hit me back up and was like, ‘I love the mixtape. I would really love to get in with you,’ so we went for it.

Can’t wait to hear it. Now, let’s imagine many years from now, there’s a portrait of you in a museum. What would the piece look like?
If there was a piece of art in a museum of me, it would be no make-up, no hair. A bare portrait.

Would you have a happy expression?
[Pauses] Maybe a Mona Lisa smile. Actually no, I’d show teeth… I’ll give teeth.

cassievv3

Sen Couture White Jersey Gown, Basile and Pape Silver Choker, Basile and Pape Silver Hand Ring, Christian Louboutins Black Patent, et al. accessories Cassie’s personal

Read the full interview at VIBE Vixen.

Comments Off on Cassie For VIBE Vixen; Styles In Upscale Designers, Talks Diddy & Denies Signing With Drake

Filed under Fashion

Comments are closed.