Rick Ross & Pusha T Graces The Source Magazine November 2013 Issue

ross-cover-hi

25-years later, The Source magazine is still going strong! The Hip-Hop publication releases two covers for their November 2013 issue. Cover 1-of-2 features Rick Ross who is styling in a sky blue mink coat and Hermes belt. He is also deck out in diamonds and sky blue sunglasses to match his fur coat. The Miami-native and multi-platinum Grammy Award nominated Hip-Hop superstar talks to music journalist Shaheem Reid about working with Raekwon of the legendary Wu-Tang Clan, his forthcoming LP, Mastermind and much more. Below are some highlights:

On flipping Wu-Tang’s “Shame On A N***a & working with Raekwon on Mastermind:
“It’s just like being blessed by the Hip-Hop Gods. They only open the Bible but for so many. I remember when Wu-Tang sucked all the air out of Miami, I was still in high school and it was the f*ckin’ Wu-Tang; n****s from the dirtiest areas and streets of America.

On referencing the attempt on his life on his new album, Mastermind:
“Me being in that position that I was in, or that I’m in, it was like ‘maybe the homie was really trying to tell us something, but we just took it as a record. We took it as a song.’ I was like that’s why it was so powerful and meaningful to us as a culture. We’re all fighting for our own existence. Every day we perform, every day you got to go to work, we’re fighting the critics off you, your bosses, your managers, your coworkers of whatever it is. We all on some level relate to those record”

On the Mastermind recording process being the longest of his career:
“I took my time. I toured with the team. Last album, I toured with the team and went back into this album. The approach production wise, the overall agenda for the music and the album, I took my time.

PushaCover_Hi

Cover 2-of-2 features G.O.O.D. Music’s Pusha T showing his bright smile. He rocked a floral cap with the matching tee-shirt. This marks the Virginia-native and former blow dealer first major placement on a print cover as a solo artist. He Speaks on K. Dot’sControl” verse, a potential new Clipse album and much more. Below are some highlights:

On Kendrick Lamar’s “Control” verse:
“I’m glad Kendrick said what he said. That’s supposed to be the attitude of every rapper, so that verse didn’t really mean that much to me. It’s about raising the bar.”

On a potential new Clipse album:
“I can talk openly about this right now. Kanye’s down to do it. Pharrell’s down to do it. Kanye said that if Pharrell wants to do the whole thing, it’s cool, he just wants it to come out.”

On the flurry of releases in 2013:
“Nothing has really inspired me. Nothing’s really moved me. Magna Carta…but other than that, I can’t think of anything.”

Both issues hits newsstand nationwide on November 26th.

Follow me @donbleek88

Photos Credit: The Source 

Comments Off on Rick Ross & Pusha T Graces The Source Magazine November 2013 Issue

Filed under Music News

Comments are closed.