Diversity In The Fashion Industry: Erykah Badu Is The New Face Of Riccardo Tisci’s Givenchy Clothes

ErykahBaduFaceOfGivenchy1

Finally, there’s some diversity in the fashion industry! Over the past few decades, there has been a lack of diversity on the runway. We all know that racism still takes place in the fashion world. I am so sick and tired of top designers overlooking models of color. Your race and ethnicity shouldn’t matter. If you’ve got the right talent, you should be given the opportunity to do the job.

Even though people of color still have a long way to go in the fashion industry, I must admit that we’ve come a long way.

Iconic fashion designer and creative director Riccardo Tisci is breaking barriers by tapping neo-soul singer Erykah Badu for the face of Givenchy’s Spring 2014 Campaign.

Tisci (Givenchy’s creative director) spoke with Style.com over the phone from Paris about the new collection and choosing Budu as the new face of the brand. Below are some highlights:

On why he chose Badu:

Erykah, she’s an icon—come on!” Tisci told Style.Com. “What I want to do with my advertising campaign is spread the love. Already now it’s been three seasons that I’ve been using people that express something—they are great artists, or beautiful women, or stylish women, or models that I really believe in. It’s kind of a family portfolio.”

On having Badu’s image in his mind when he was designing the Spring 2014 line which is a mash-up of African and Japanese influences:

She’s one of the most stylish women I’ve met in my life,” he said. “She’s got such a good sense of proportion, of colors.”

On being active in promoting women of color in his runway and in his campaigns: 

There was a lot of talk this season in fashion,” Tisci said. “Me, I was one of the persons who ended up not being touched by this. I discovered Joan Smalls, I discovered Maria [Borges]. I discovered a lot of black girls, and I’ve been always supporting them. For me, I grew up in a family and I grew up in a culture, an education, that we all are the same.”

This campaign is already making history and I hope other fashion houses will follow Tisci’s lead.

Follow me @donbleek88

NEXT PAGE: MORE PICS OF ERYKAH BADU FOR GIVENCHY

ErykahBaduFaceOfGivenchy2

ErykahBaduFaceOfGivenchy3

ErykahBaduFaceOfGivenchy4

Photos Credit: Riccardo Tisci’s Instagram | Style.Com |

Style.Com

2 Comments

Filed under Fashion

2 responses to “Diversity In The Fashion Industry: Erykah Badu Is The New Face Of Riccardo Tisci’s Givenchy Clothes

  1. Pingback: Rihanna’s Full Balmain Spring/Summer 2014 Campaign |

  2. She is absolutley stunning. Really love this outfit too 🙂