Daily Archives: June 22, 2011

There’s Still Some Animosity: DMX Speaks On His Past Issues With Jay-Z, Plus An Exclusive Video Of Their Battle

New York’s rapper DMX is expected to be released from prison early next month. In an exclusive interview with Vibe magazine, DMX talked about his past issues with Jay-Z. X and Jay were good friends at one time. Also, DMX tells the reason why he is Jay-Z had a falling out.  Below are some excerpts from X interview with Vibe:

So what really went wrong there?
I have a few inside people who confirmed my suspicions that they were trying to make me leave. Like ‘Yeah they just wanna get you out of there. ‘ That way they can do what they wanna do and this , that, and the other. If you remember, Jay quit. He retired from rapping. But he became president of Def Jam.  He gave me the call, he called me personally. So I’m like ‘yeah that’s wassup! My mans is in a position now, he’s the president of the label I’m on, we good! Next thing you know, he’s out of retirement and I’m off the label. What a coincidence.

Damn. Have you even been able to have a conversation with Jay after that? I remember when it happened.
I’ve not talked to him yet, since. But I had a show November 18th, before I got locked up–No November 12th I had the show. And somebody in the crowd was like ‘What’s up with Jay-Z’ and I was like ‘Fuck Jay-Z’. And it ended up all over the place. So he called Swizz, Swizz called me, and he tells Swizz ‘Yoo, why your man dissin me? I was gonna do a song with him’—Coulda, woulda, shoulda. Fucking bullshit. I don’t wanna hear that shit. And like ‘Yo, can you just get him to say he ain’t mean it’—NO! I’m not saying that. What I did say is if he wanna talk to me, I’m man enough to let him know why it’s ‘Fuck You’, but it’s still ‘Fuck You’! That’s what it is. I’ll let you know why, I can do that. It ain’t like you gotta worry about me running up on you shooting you. It ain’t that serious. You don’t owe me nothing. But if you want an explanation as to why it’s ‘Fuck You’, I’ll be more than happy to tell you why.

You can read the full interview over at Vibe.com.

Interview Credit: Vibe  

Follow me @donbleek88

NEXT PAGE: MORE EXCERPTS AND A VIDEO OF DMX AND JAY-Z BATTLING AT THE POOL HALL

Continue reading

Comments Off on There’s Still Some Animosity: DMX Speaks On His Past Issues With Jay-Z, Plus An Exclusive Video Of Their Battle

Filed under Music News

Another Plaque: Lupe Fiasco “The Show Goes On” Hits Double Platinum

In March, Lupe Fiasco released his album Lasers, which debuted at number one on the Billboard 200 chart. Three months later, he earned a double platinum plaque for his single “The Show Goes On.” This mark’s Lupe’s second single to go platinum or higher. In 2007, his single “Superstar” went platinum. “The Show Goes On” is Lupe’s biggest record to date.

Credit: LupEND

Follow me @donbleek88

Congratulation from Don Bleek, Dollah Tha Rapper, Shakiel F, Rich Rosay and YoDonBleekRap!

Comments Off on Another Plaque: Lupe Fiasco “The Show Goes On” Hits Double Platinum

Filed under Music News

Magazine Cover: Lil Wayne Graces XXL’s July/August 2011 Cover

YMCMB recording artist Lil Wayne is gracing the cover of the July/August issue of XXL magazine. Weezy sat down with writer Shaheem Reid in Miami’s Quad Studios for XXL‘s forthcoming July/August 2011 issue. During the interview, Weezy spoke on everything from his recording process, his retirement plans, Drake and Nicki Minaj’s success, and why he’ll never record with pop sensation Justin Bieber. Weezy’s forthcoming LP Tha Carter IV will be out this summer.

Writer Shaheem Reid, chopped it up with Weezy in Miami about how a rapper as prolific as himself, was able to actually select tracks for Tha Carter IV. Asked, when he knew that the album was ready, Wayne said: “You don’t. When they tell you. When [manager Cortez Bryant] call me and tell me and say, ‘You got such and such date is your deadline to stop,’ I be like, ‘Aight.’ ’Cause I never stop recording, obviously. So it’s just on him to say, “Okay, stop. We’re gonna pick these songs, and that’s the album.’ That’s how we do it.”

Fans might ask what fills the contents of such songs? Weezy explains: “What is good about me is that I’m an interesting muthafucka. I’m Dwayne Michael Carter period! Whether I’m a rapper or not, I’m interesting. And that’s what my album’s gonna be about: me and how interesting I am.”

The Young Money leader also revealed to XXL that he plans to retire soon and hints at TC4 possibly being his last offering. “I’m bowing out still on top,” he says. “I’ma make y’all want me when I retire. I’ma make y’all be like, ‘Nooo!’ I ain’t leaving out this bitch when y’all be like, ‘Yeah, it’s about time, dawg.’ Carter IV might be my last one. I’ma make y’all be like, ‘Fuck!’ Yeah, nigga, I’m gone.”

XXL’s July/August 2011 issue will hit newsstands nationwide on July 12.  Read more here

Credit: XXL magazine

Follow me @donbleek88


Comments Off on Magazine Cover: Lil Wayne Graces XXL’s July/August 2011 Cover

Filed under Music News

Live In The Studio: Fabolous Interview With Tim Westwood [With Video]

Brooklyn’s rapper Fabolous took his talents to the UK; where he stopped by Tim Westwood’s BBC Radio 1xra show for an interview. During his segment, Loso answered if he had sex with Amber Rose or not, doing songs with Nate Dogg, Nicki Minaj lap dances, and more. Also, Loso admitted that he and his baby mother/girlfriend Emily are still together. Fab’s new album Loso’s Way 2: Rise To Power will be in stores and online this September

Videos Credit: Tim Westwood 

Picture credit: Sneakers News

Follow me @donbleek88

Comments Off on Live In The Studio: Fabolous Interview With Tim Westwood [With Video]

Filed under Interviews

Chillin In Hollywood: Chris Brown Spotted Standing On A Street Corner

Earlier today, Wednesday (June 22) Platinum-selling singer Chris Brown was spotted standing on a street corner outside of a studio in Hollywood. Breezy is in the studio rehashing for his BET Awards performance.

Picture Credit: Necole Bitchie

Follow me@donbleek88

Comments Off on Chillin In Hollywood: Chris Brown Spotted Standing On A Street Corner

Filed under Fashion

Dope Snapback: Jay-Z In Don C’s Custom Snake Skin New York Yankee Hat

Music mogul Jay-Z visited Will Smith on the set of his film Men In Black. The movie stars Will Smith and Tommy  Lee Jones and is the third installment of the film. The movie is being filmed at Battery Park in NYC. Jay-Z and Will Smith are now business partners. Jay was styling on them lames in a custom Mitchell & Ness New York Yankee snake-skin snapback cap, from Kanye West’s manager/friend Don C collection. Also, Jay wore a $250 striped Dior Homme t-shirt, tan cargo pants, and Adidas Originals mid sneakers.

Don C’s Custom snake-skin athletic hats will be sold at RSVP Gallery in July.

Follow me @donbleek88

2 Comments

Filed under Fashion

New Music: Mary J. Blige Ft. Nicki Minaj “Feel Inside,” Plus Nicki Is Taking Shots At Lil Kim On This Track

The Queen of Hip-Hop & R&B new track “Feel Inside” Ft. Nicki Minaj just leaked online. The track samples Wu-Tang’s “Triumph” and is off Mary’s upcoming album My Life II: The Journey Continues. I can’t believe Mary allowed Nicki Minaj to diss Lil Kim on her track. Mary and Kim were good friends at one point. I am disappointed at Mary. By the way, this track is WACK; it’s HORRIBLE. Listen at your own risk below:

“You been wack/might send some Brooklyn ni***s to get you kidnapped/with your b***h a**/hit the dryer cause you’re washed/split splash.”

Follow me @donbleek88

Comments Off on New Music: Mary J. Blige Ft. Nicki Minaj “Feel Inside,” Plus Nicki Is Taking Shots At Lil Kim On This Track

Filed under New Music

Video Shoot: Teyana Taylor “Her Room” [Pictorial]

Last week, I posted Teyana Taylor’s version to Drake’s “Marvin’s Room.” Taylor titled the track “Her Room” and responded to Drake’s song; in an emotional way. On the track, Taylor finds the strength to move on from an ex-boyfriend who left her for another girl. She wasted no time shooting the visual to the track. Singer Omarion is playing Teyana’s boyfriend in the Taj, directed visual.

Pictures Credit: BWV & I Am BG

Follow me @donbleek88

NEXT PAGE: MORE PICTURES FROM THE VISUAL SHOOT

Continue reading

Comments Off on Video Shoot: Teyana Taylor “Her Room” [Pictorial]

Filed under Entertainment

Trouble With The Law: Judge Threatened To Jail Foxy Brown If She Comes To Court Late Again

Last summer, I reported that Brooklyn’s female rapper Foxy Brown was arrested for bad-mouthing a nemesis neighbor who had an order of protection against her, police sources said. Yesterday, Tuesday (June 21), Foxy Brown trail was set to begin inside of a Brooklyn courtroom. Brown was scheduled to be there at 9:30am but she didn’t arrive until noon. Brown blamed her tardiness on her lawyer and later hinted she may replace him. Brooklyn Supreme Court Justice Judge John Walsh threatened to jail Foxy is she arrives late again.

“Don’t put me in a position when I’m going to remand you to make sure you’re here at 9:30. Court starts at 9:30, not when you roll in.

An emotional Brown countered that her lawyer Salvatore Srazzullo, who didn’t show up in court but sent an aide instead, instructed her to appear at 11:30 a.m. She showed reporters a text message from him to prove her point.

This is b——-. I’m always here on time,” she ranted. “This is why I’m peeved.”

During previous hearings on the misdemeanor charge, the rap diva regularly arrived to court early, then retreated to the ladies room to avoid picture-snapping onlookers until her case was called.

The trial is now set to begin July 12.

Additional Reporting: NYDailyNews

Follow me @donbleek88

Comments Off on Trouble With The Law: Judge Threatened To Jail Foxy Brown If She Comes To Court Late Again

Filed under Music News

Fly Girl: Ciara Styling On Them Hoes In 6 Inch Christian Louboutin

Over this past weekend, R&B singer Ciara was spotted partying at UpFront Megatainment CEO Devyne Stephens 40th birthday party in Atlanta. Ciara was styling on them hoes in a mini white dress, with a pair of 6 inch Christian Louboutin heels. The party was held at Dreamland (A Sandy Springs mansion co-owned by music moguls Akon and Devyne Stephens). Friends and celebrities including LisaRaye, Kandi Burress, Dallas Austin, Ron Artest, Akon and more were all there.

Pictures credit: Prince Williams of ATLPics.net and Talkingwithtami.com

Follow me @donbleek88

Comments Off on Fly Girl: Ciara Styling On Them Hoes In 6 Inch Christian Louboutin

Filed under Fashion